The Chambers

Trinity Chambers derived its name from the coincidence of the number of its founding members (without religious overtones) and the name of the bay off Cairns, but without the troubles heralded by Captain James Cook.

Trinity Chambers was established in 1993 by Andrew Philp, Steven Bliim and Andrew Sinclair.  Andrew Philp, formerly Associate to Dunn J, Skoien DCJ, Carter DCJ and Rowe DCJ, had been a member of 10 Level Chambers during his time at the Bar in Brisbane. Steven Bliim had been at the Sydney Bar. Andrew Sinclair had been a Crown Prosecutor with the Brisbane office of the Director of Public Prosecutions.

In 2003 of Trinity Chambers moved to its present site, a building with a past as a fish & chip shop, a vehicle workshop and offices of the Tharpuntoo Legal Service. It is located next door to the Cairns Police Station and in turn the Cairns Courthouse. The new venue was officially opened by the Honourable Justice Jones on 11 December 2003. Its renovated rooms included mediation facilities.

Current Members

Andrew Philp QC has remained the head of chambers since its inception.

Michael Jonsson, formerly a partner of MacDonnells Law solicitors in Cairns, joined chambers in 2004.

Joshua Trevino, formerly Associate to Jerrard JA and Mullins J joined in 2005.

Christopher Taylor joined the group in 2012 after having practiced as a solicitor, particularly in building and construction law.

Andrea Lawrence joined chambers in 2013 after moving her practice at the Victorian Bar from Melbourne.